Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 VP-ASP 6.50 Features and Facilities
 Is a ASP.Net migration planned?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

garthbrown
Starting Member

7 Posts

Posted - February 05 2007 :  12:08:44  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I've been using VP-ASP for a couple years now. It has met my needs and I enjoy working with it. However, I am becoming concerned about developers' future with Classic ASP.

I won't get into the Classic VS .Net argument. I can get Classic to do everything that .Net does (even though SOAP services take a little longer).

I also won't get into "How long will MS support Classic?" It will probably be around for a while.

My concern surrounds developers. When I am short of time and I need to get outside developers, I am finding it harder to find people willing to work with Classic. I am even finding that developers with strong Classic skills are becoming as expensive as .Net developers. This seems to be a recent change in the market.

I am also becoming reluctant to recommend VP-ASP to fellow decision makers for fear that they will run in to the same issues.

My questions are:
A) Is a move to .Net planned?
B) If so, when?
C) Anyone else giving this any thought?

Thanks in advance.

Scooter
VP-CART New User

USA
102 Posts

Posted - February 05 2007 :  21:33:16  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
One word, stability.

I work with ASP for little while now and have play with .NET but ASP much more stable than .NET IMHO.

It is way to go though.

S.
Go to Top of Page

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - February 05 2007 :  21:44:24  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Garth,