Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 VP-ASP 7.0 Questions
 New Open Source VS Hosted
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

theringlord
VP-CART New User

107 Posts

Posted - December 05 2012 :  22:10:34  Show Profile  Visit theringlord's Homepage  Reply with Quote
It feels like Vpasp is no longer focusing on their open source business. But rather the new features are going to hosted solutions only. First the mobile only went into the SAAS and now the new one page checkout.
Will the direction of VPasp (rather the rebranded vpcart) be more of a SAAS solution?
Do you have a new version of open source planned? With an ETA and features list?
I've been using your open source for many many many years and the conversion to another version will take years of detailed planning. Please provide any info you can.
I'm not opposeed to SAAS - I use it for almost everything else I do. I just need to know the life expectancy of the open source or planned end date.

If you are not ready to post publicly please email me directly. You may delete this post if you choose.

support
Administrator

4679 Posts

Posted - December 06 2012 :  01:18:26  Show Profile  Visit support's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi there,

Thank you for providing us with your thoughts.

I assure you that our energies go into both sides of the business equally. The one page checkout is available to both open source and Business Ready Plan customers. The reason we are selling it as a paid add-on is because of the amount of resources we put into creating it and the complexity of installing it into earlier versions of the software.

As for mobile, we developed this specifically for stores hosted on our servers. There has simply not been enough demand for us to warrant spending the time and resources on creating a version of the mobile module for our open source customers.