Welcome, Guest ( Customer Panel | Login )

All Forums
 VPCart Forum
 General help me questions
 IE Cookie Settings and Empty Shopping Carts
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

jmann
Starting Member

Canada
1 Posts

Posted - February 26 2003 :  12:03:27  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi,

I have been using vpasp for 2 years now and have often been contacted by customers that have added items to the shopping cart just fine, but when attempting to check out they got a message indicating that their shopping cart was empty. (Sessions timing out is not the issue here.)

I have discoved that the problem occurs when a customer has their browser settings set to not accept any cookies. I have just tested the latest vpasp demo on this site with my browser set up like this and the problem occurred for me as well just a few minutes ago.

Is there any way around this? I am losing customers because of this and would like to hear from other customers or vpasp support with a solution.

Thanks in advance.

Superal
VP-CART Expert

Canada
542 Posts

Posted - February 26 2003 :  13:58:22  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Without cookies enabled, the session variables that the cart relies on, do not work. No cookie, no workie! In researching this item, I found that VPASP does indeed have a warning message about cookies. It is found in shopemptycart.asp. Without cookies enabled, nothing can be added to the cart as such easy to detect if cookies on.

One thing I have noticed is that security software may change the level to something that doesn't allow cookies. This may be without the customers knowledge that such was being done. By adding instructions to the above file's message, you could instruct the customer how to check and change the settings. Will post this as soon as I find it again.

Edited by - superal on February 27 2003 15:15:58
Go to Top of Page

Superal
VP-CART Expert

Canada
542 Posts